Deutsch | Kontakt | Impressum
TP01   TP02   TP03   TP04   TP05   TP06   TP07   TP08   TP09   TP10   TP11   TP12   TP13   TP14   TP15   TP16   TP17

Beschreibung der Teilnehmerinstitute

Institution TP10

The Institute of Microbiology of the TU Braunschweig [Link zum Institut, Braunschweig].

Insitut für Mikrobiologie, TU BraunschweigThe Institute of Microbiology is located in the "Biozentrum" (built 1988) together with the Institute of Genetics, Cell Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology as well as Plant Biology. The department belongs to the faculty of Life Sciences and includes the groups of Prof. Dr. Dieter Jahn (Head of the Institute), Prof. Dr. Petra Dersch, Prof. Michael Steinert and Dr. Gunhild Layer (Emmy Noether Group) with about 70 research assistents, Postdocs, and PhD students.

The department is involved in teaching of bachelor and master students of Biology, Biotechnology and Food Technology. Main research interests are focussed on bacteria causing gastro-intestinal diseases (Yersinia species, Escherichia coli) and infection of the respiratory tract (Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Legionella pneumophila) as well as parasites (Trypanosoma). In addition, ecological, physiological and biotechnological aspects are addressed with Dinoroseobacter shibae, Bacillus subtilis and Bacillus megaterium.

The following research projects are studied by the groups of the Institute:

Research of the Institute is integrated into several research consortia and is mainly funded by the DFG (SFB578, Forschergruppe Protrain, SPP1258, SPP1316), the BMBF (SYSMO, FBI-Zoo), and the State Lower Saxony.


Anschrift des Instituts

Institut für Mikrobiologie
an der TU-Braunschweig
Biozentrum, 2. Obergeschoss
Spielmannstraße 7
D - 38106 Braunschweig


Prof. Dr. Petra Dersch (Helmholtz-Zentrum)
Telefon: +49 (0)531 6181-5700
E-Mail: Petra Dersch